I have been considering building a small custom humidor that would occupy the console compartment of my 1966 Plymouth. I’m quite a fan of smoking a great stogie on long trips, there’s nothing like taking your time smoking a nice Arturo Fuente 8-5-8 or a nice top-shelf churchill on the obligatory weekend cruise. My portable cigar box is a black plastic glove-boxer, which always leaves me feeling like a cheap “Phillies Blunts” smoker. Ick. Nothing classy about black phenyl-type plastic, not even a hint of brass! Yes, dark woods and brass…. thats’ what I need. I do some basic woodcraft when needed, and with Spanish cedar readily available, it seems like a fun project! To properly fit the console I’d need to come up with a design reminiscent of a coffin; there’s some kind of irony in there somewhere….

Of course, this damn car has no less than 5 ashtrays! Dash, console, front passenger armrest and both rear armrests. You would think everyone would have died from lung cancer halfway through the morning commute! And yet, no cupholder? Strange times indeed….