It’s a beautiful rainy day in San Francisco. The streets feel clean, less visible evidence of our dirty little city lives. I love it.

I suppose the best way to start the day is hot coffee and a fresh baked “something”, but I took 2 Ripped-Fuel caplets (energy, sweet energy!) and a half a protein shake. My mornings are mundane, and the commute is almost always a disappointment. The one perk is that I get to ride the rails, albeit on BART (Bay Area rapid Transit) which is to trains what a Yugo is to cars. Noisy, smelly and always crowded, but it gets the job done (eventually!). Today, I drove in. Not in my own car, no… I had done brake work last night on a friend’s late-model Impala. God what a turd. Plasticville, with a touch of bloat.

I spent my shower time daydreaming, I say good morning to my 2 furry feline friends at the house, and kissed my sweetheart goodbye as I embark on about 8 hours of labor, or as I call it  “getting-paid-to-dick-around-on-the-internet-at-work-between-tasks”. Now don’t think, by any means, that I don’t work I do work! I just happen to be well overqualified for the job so my free time is in no short supply. I do have a boring job, so I’ll leave it at that.

My day started today, as it usually does in December, with swirling thoughts of toys and christmas  and family dinners talking about wish lists and such…. I’ve got a big weekend to look forward to. I’ll be spending some quality time with Todd (brother in law) who wants to rebuild his HO scale trainset for Xmas, I’ll be picking up some amazingly cool new N scale trains (locomotives specifically, just wait!) and of course, I’ll be smoking a mouth-watering-good Victor Sinclair cigar on the drive up to Sacramento in my sweet little vintage Plymouth! Life does NOT get any better. Needless to say, my gal will be with me all the way, and perhaps enjoying a cigar or two of her own (HEY! No dirty jokes there- she has a humidor and loves the stogies!).

As you can see by the title of this blog, I don’t stick to just one hobby, I never have! I’m a young guy with an old soul, a New-York bred, cigar-chomping, cursing & drinking son-of-a-gun. I am also one hell of a nice guy, and I like to make other people happy. I have a beautiful partner-in-crime who happens to share some of my loves, like my adoration of all things antique and vintage. Really, that’s why I’m here, that’s why I feel the need to share my “old man’s hobbies” with the world! Come to think of it, I’d love to retire soon… but at 26 I just don’t think that’s in the cards 🙂

I am sure some of my rambling, ranting, and grunting will be quite readable on occasion and totally useless other times, but just remember…. this is all opinion, conjecture, and all in good fun. Good morning, everyone!